Thayne Miner Memorial Horsemanship Class

SmartPak Equine new 2018 Thayne Miner Sponsor!

SmartPak Equine is graciously donating ten $25 gift cards to 2018 Thayne Miner exhibitors!

Thank you to SmartPak Equine for this sponsorship!

2018 Thayne Miner Memorial Trophy Winner

MQHA and the MQHYA would like to congratulate Madison Foster on winning the Thayne Miner Memorial this year! Madison is from Newaygo, MI, and she competed in this class with “Wilson” (A Diggin Hot Time).


Congratulations to Rylinn Lindsay on “Tyroan” who was reserve! (Pictured with 2017 winner, Elizabeth West!)

Thayne Miner Memorial Horsemanship Class

Thayne Miner
Thayne Miner

Thayne Miner of Freeland, Michigan was a member and a good friend of MQHA. He lived most of his life in Midland County where he was raised. He became interested in horses at a young age, and was active in the Michigan Quarter Horse Association as a youth. Thayne was successful at training and showing horses, and as an MQ member, devoted much of his time to youth activities.

In 1980, MQHA President Clinton Raines, MQHYA Director Mike Havens, Youth President Mike Carroll, and the MY Board instituted the “Thayne Miner Memorial Trophy,” to be awarded annually to a Michigan Youth in memory of a great horseman who was loved by all who worked with him, showed with him and knew him.

Past Thayne Miner Trophy Winners

  • 2017: Elizabeth West
  • 2016: Catherine Tata
  • 2015: Alyssa Luckhardt
  • 2014:  Sheyenne Nelson 

» Archive of past Trophy Winners

Michigan Quarter Horse Association facebook page Michigan Quarter Horse Marketplace facebook link